Home Entertainment Sports Obafemi Martins & Others Recalled By Coach Oliseh To Super Eagles Squad
Obafemi Martins & Others Recalled By Coach Oliseh To Super Eagles Squad

Obafemi Martins & Others Recalled By Coach Oliseh To Super Eagles Squad



Seattle Sounders striker, Obafemi Martins, has been recalled by coach Sunday Oliseh to the Super Eagles side that will play next month’s double World Cup qualifying matches against Swaziland. 

Nigerian Super Eagles Head Coach, Sunday Oliseh has invited 23 players, including USA-based Obafemi Martins and six home-based players, for the Super Eagles’ 2018 World Cup qualifying fixture against Swaziland.

The 2-legged fixture is slated to take place on the 13th and 17th of November with the first leg to be played in Lobamba in Swaziland while the return leg will be at the Adokiye Stadium in Port Harcourt.

Obafemi Martins, who last featured for the national team two years ago, has been in great form in the MLS, notching up 17 goals and 13 assists, setting the club’s single-season marks for most goals and most points, and tying the assist record. 

The invitation is also comes as a sweet birthday present to Martins, who celebrated his big day on Wednesday. He scored for Nigeria on his debut in a friendly match against Republic of Ireland in London in May 2005.

Chelsea midfielder, John Mikel Obi, Portugal-based players, Dele Alampasu and Abdullahi Shehu and Arsenal’ Alex Iwobi are also invited, as well as defender, Wilfred Ndidi.

Oliseh has directed that all the players arrive at the Bolton White Apartments, Abuja on Sunday, November 8 as training commences same day by 7:00pm.


Goalkeepers: Carl Ikeme (Wolverhampton Wanderers, England); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Sunshine Stars); Dele Alampasu (Club de Sportivo Feirense, Portugal)

Defenders: Abdullahi Shehu (Uniao da Madeira, Portugal); Kalu Orji (Enugu Rangers FC); Elderson Echiejile (AS Monaco, France); Chima Akas (Sharks FC); Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz, Germany); Godfrey Oboabona (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey); Efe Ambrose (Celtic FC, Scotland); Austin Oboroakpo (Abia Warriors)

Midfielders: Ogenyi Onazi (SS Lazio, Italy); Paul Onobi (Sunshine Stars); John Mikel Obi (Chelsea FC, England); Rabiu Ibrahim (AS Trencin, Slovakia); Wilfred Ndidi (KRC Genk, Belgium); Sylvester Igbonu (FC UFA, Russia)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Odion Ighalo (Watford FC, England); Ezekiel Bassey (Enyimba FC); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Obafemi Martins (Seattle Sounders, USA)



Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *