Home News Metro News National Theatre In Total Darkness Over Unpaid N9m Electricity Debt
National Theatre In Total Darkness Over Unpaid N9m Electricity Debt

National Theatre In Total Darkness Over Unpaid N9m Electricity Debt



Yesterday, the Eko Electricity Distribution Company Plc (EKEDC) said that electricity supply to the National Arts Theatre in Lagos was disconnected because its management failed to pay over N9 million debt. .

The General Manger, Media Communications of EKEDC, Idemudia Godwin, revealed that the complex was disconnected after several appeals and demand notices went unheeded. According to him, the debt is an accumulation of unpaid bills over time, saying

“We don’t disconnect without serving notice. Besides, we recently ran a newspaper advertisement informing all ministries, departments and parastatal agencies (MDAs) of government that were indebted to EKEDC of our intention to disconnect them.”

“We have commenced disconnection of all historic debtors that include: residential, commercial, industrial and government establishments within our network,’’ he said.

According to him, only 25 per cent of this debt actually belongs to DISCOs, the rest are for other companies in the value chain- generating companies, bulk traders, gas suppliers, among others.

“So if you do not pay and you accumulate debt, what you are looking at is a possible total collapse of the entire power sector. That is what we seek to avert by this action. We need this fund to energies the power sector; to ensure electricity supply and to grow the sector,’’ Idemudia said.

He stated that the operations of all distribution companies were hampered by huge indebtedness by the “historic debtors.’’

On July 24, Sunday Odutan, Executive Director, Association of Nigerian Electricity Distributors (ANED), decried the huge indebtedness of government establishments and military formations to the distribution companies.

He gave the statistics of indebtedness of the distribution companies as follows – Abuja DISCO: N18.6bn; Eko DISCO: N8.6bn; Kaduna: N8.2bn and Enugu: N7.2bn; Ibadan: N6.8 bn; Ikeja, N5.9 bn; Port Harcourt, N6.8 bn; Benin: N5.8 bn; Jos: N6.5 bn; Yola: N2.4 bn and Kano: N1.2 bn




Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *