Home Entertainment Gists Attahiru Jega Bags Another International Award
Attahiru Jega Bags Another International Award

Attahiru Jega Bags Another International Award



Professor Attahiru Jega, the former chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has been named the electoral commissioner of the year by the International Centre for Parliamentary Studies (ICPS) of the United Kingdom.

Professor Jega was the chairman of INEC during the 2015 general elections and was hailed by local and foreign media for his composure and delivery of service. Two month ago, he was named the winner of this year’s edition of the Charles T. Mannat democracy award.

Daily Trust reports that Jega was named the winner of the ICPS award during the weekend at the 11th international affairs symposium and award ceremony in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico.

Jega’s leadership of INEC during the election also earned the commission the 2015 Electoral Conflict Management Award.

Jega won the award among a three man shortlist after INEC was adjudged to have conducted the world’s most celebrated democratic election this year.

A few days before he arrived at Mexico for the award, Jega spoke at the London School of Economics where he talked about the temptation of wanting to spend a second term as INEC boss.

ICPS’s website stated that it focused on “the empowerment of Human Capital through Capacity Building. To this effect, the Centre organises a range of Training Programmes, Conferences and Policy Discussions to address current public policy issues on the International Stage, in the European Union and the UK.

These provide a forum for policy discussion, debate, networking and sharing of best practices.





Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *